Data centres / Norway
Gromstul data centre (Project Telemark), Skien
Stage not knownNorway5 of 13 fields known
Gromstul, Skien, Telemark, Norway.
- Operator
- WS Computing AS
- Owner
- Not stated
- Stage
- Stage not known
- Power
- A trade report quoting the mayor in November 2023 said 100 MW of grid power was then granted, with 20 MW awaiting approval and 120 MW more hoped for a second stage towards 2030.
- Cooling
- The noise assessment for Building 2 lists 70 outdoor cooling units; the zoning plan allows heat recovery installations.
Permit documents name WS Computing AS as applicant and do not name the end user. Trade press has linked the Gromstul campus to Google, which we treat as reported only. The 100 MW figure is from 2023 and may be out of date.
Capacity
| Measure | Stage | Basis | MW | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grid connection | Permitted | reported | 100 | 22 November 2023 | source |
These figures measure different things and are not added together.
Planning
| Decision or document | Status | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Detailed zoning plan for Gromstul data centre (plan ID 2017004), Skien municipality | Approved | Not stated |
What we checked
- The municipal zoning plan was proposed by Skien municipality to enable power- and space-intensive uses, primarily data centres, with a cap of 500 parking spaces. (source)
- A Skanska-related report puts the 2024 groundworks contract for WS Computing at the Gromstul site at about NOK 1.1 billion. (source)
- Trade press said the mayor played down a widely quoted 860 MW figure as a long-range estimate for the whole industrial area, not one tenant's request. (source)
What we do not know yet
5 of 13 fields in a complete record are filled. Still missing:
- Owner
- Stage
- Grid connection
- PUE
- Water use
- Chips
- Connectivity
- Certifications
Checked on 2 October 2026. Reported and planned figures are shown as such. Not yet reviewed line by line by a second person. If something is wrong or you know more, tell us.