Data centres / France
Campus IA, Fouju
PermittedFrance5 of 13 fields known
Fouju, Seine-et-Marne, France.
- Operator
- Not stated
- Owner
- Not stated
- Stage
- Permitted (source, 29 July 2026)
- Power
- The public debate summary describes 1,400 MW total power need, with a 700 MW provisional connection for phase 1 by 2028, via two 400 kV RTE lines.
- Cooling
- Rooftop refrigeration units are planned instead of groundwater use, with waste heat for a training centre, greenhouses and a nearby prison.
The 1.4 GW figure is a power need described by press and the national public debate summary, not a stated IT capacity. Opponents have announced a legal challenge; we did not confirm one has been filed. The project owner or operator is not named in the primary documents we read.
Capacity
| Measure | Stage | Basis | MW | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grid connection | Permitted | reported | 1400 | 29 July 2026 | source |
These figures measure different things and are not added together.
Planning
| Decision or document | Status | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Prefectoral authorisation for the Campus IA installation, Seine-et-Marne | Approved | 29 July 2026 |
| Local authority project calendar: environmental decree July 2026, phase 1 construction permit August 2026 | Approved | Not stated |
What we checked
- The Seine-et-Marne prefecture authorised the project on 29 July 2026 for about 89 hectares, eleven data centre buildings and one training building. (source)
- The local authority calendar says phase 1 construction begins in September 2026 with first delivery of three data centres and the substation estimated in early 2028. (source)
- The same calendar says Mistral AI secured up to 200 MW of computing capacity as founding client, a figure whose metric is not defined. (source)
- The public debate commission's summary gives phase 1 as three data centres plus a training facility and phase 2 as nine more, on about 70 hectares. (source)
What we do not know yet
5 of 13 fields in a complete record are filled. Still missing:
- Owner
- Operator
- Grid connection
- PUE
- Water use
- Chips
- Connectivity
- Certifications
Checked on 2 October 2026. Reported and planned figures are shown as such. Not yet reviewed line by line by a second person. If something is wrong or you know more, tell us.